Miami-Dade County confirmed that it maintains curfew from 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. and fines for those who violate it, while it will continue to impose civil sanctions on people who do not wear masks as a measure to prevent the spread of coronavirus, after announcing that it updated emergency orders and the “New Normal” guide to fit phase 3 of Florida’s economic reopening.
Miami-Dade Mayor Carlos Giménez’s office reported late on Saturday night that it “respects Executive Order 20-244, according to state opening rules set by Gov. Ron DeSantis, while keeping aspects of county orders in place in order to protect Miami-Dade County residents during the COVID-19 pandemic.”
DeSantis on Friday announced a total reopening of business and the removal of restrictions imposed to slow the advance of the virus that hit South Florida hard.
In Miami-Dade, all retail and business establishments, including food stores, pharmacies, and construction companies, must continue to comply with county safety standards in order to prevent the spread of the virus.
“I want to emphasize that we are at a crucial time to continue saving lives and launching the economy. Even if all commercial and business establishments are opened, people have to remain responsible and use facial coverage in public places, stay six feet away from others, and wash their hands frequently to stop the spread of the virus, particularly to protect people with high-risk diseases and our older adults,” Giménez said in a statement issued by his office.
The mayor emphasized that in Miami-Dade they want to continue to celebrate the achievements made in the public health sector, that their hospitals can continue to function efficiently so that they can care for all patients and not have to return to emergency closures due to a rise that overloads the health system.
The Florida Department of Health reported 2,795 new confirmed cases of coronavirus on Saturday, bringing total contagions to 698,682 and 107 deaths of people with COVID-19, bringing the state’s death count to 14,190.
The rate of positive cases in Miami-Dade is 4.40% on average 14 days and Friday’s rate was 4.03%.
CURFEW AND FINES
At the moment, Miami-Dade remains in effect from 11:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. to limit late-night activities that facilitate the spread of the virus, the county said.
Violators will receive a second-degree misdemeanor fine of up to $500 and/or 180 days of deprivation of liberty.
Remember our nightly curfew in Miami-Dade County is still in effect from 11 p.m. to 6 a.m.
. . .
Recuerde que el toque de queda en Miami-Dade sigue comenzando a las 11 p.m. todas las noches hasta las 6 a.m. pic.twitter.com/Hka1i2pYcs
— Mayor Carlos A. Gimenez (@MayorGimenez) September 26, 2020
Regarding the governor’s order to suspend all fines and penalties imposed on individuals for violation of county public health orders due to COVID-19, Miami-Dade said it will continue to impose civil penalties on individuals who do not wear masks and prosecute fines and penalties as permitted.
“During this pandemic, Miami-Dade County has taken cautious action, guided by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Florida Department of Health, and our local medical experts, including epidemiologists and infectious disease specialists. As infection rates continue to fall to less than 5 percent, and the number of hospitalizations continues to decline, I am proud of the community’s response to help curb the spread of this virus,” Giménez said.
The mayor thanked DeSantis for his leadership and collaboration, which, he said, has allowed Miami-Dade and all of South Florida to be part of the governor’s reopening of state-level business.
“A lot of people are suffering and I’ve worked hard to reach the optimal conditions to open up our economy,” he said.
MASKS, RESTAURANTS AND BARS
At a minimum, all commercial and business establishments must ensure that both employees and the public wear masks at all times and work and exhibition areas must be created to promote physical distance of at least 6 feet, the county indicated.
In compliance with the governor’s order, the county’s capacity limit of at least 50% (at least) for restaurants will remain in effect, expanding more than 50% of the capacity allowed for restaurants and centers that can place more tables while maintaining a 6-foot separation between them.
Restaurants can reach 100 percent capacity if they include table service in outdoor spaces, where possible. The maximum number of people allowed per table is maintained in enclosed or open spaces. No more than six people per table, or up to ten people if they are members of the same family.
In the case of restaurants and bars that do not have enough space to place tables and reach a minimum capacity of 50%, they will be allowed to place the tables closer to reach that capacity.
Bars that can only offer service from the bar can reach 50% capacity if they place seats on the bar that allow as much separation as possible between users to reach a minimum of that capacity.
The clubs in which you dance have to demand the use of masks on the dance floor. Meals and drinks are only allowed at tables.